Brisbane Makerspace is becoming a not for profit

We’re becoming a not for profit!

My name’s Jaimyn, and I’ve been running Brisbane Makerspace for the past 2 years. Up until now, BMS has been run as a social enterprise with a “benevolent dictator” (me) model. I’m so proud of the community that we’ve built together.

Today, I am so happy to announce that BMS is becoming a 100% not for profit, community run, and community governed group. From a legal sense, this means we’ve applied to become an incorporated association and will be governed by a committee (like a board) and our members.

The new nfp association will be called Meanjin Makerspace Inc. as an acknowledgment of the first nations lands that we occupy. However, we’ll continue trading under Brisbane Makerspace just like we do now. You can find our new constitution here, and an organisational overview here. The committee will approve a new set of rules and policies soon.

I’ve put together some FAQs below. If there’s anything else, please shoot through an email to hello@brisbanemaker.space, message me on Discord, or create an account and comment below. Thanks for your support, and I can’t wait to see how our community gets even bigger and better.

I’m super confused and just want to make things, what’s the summary?

1. You don’t need to do anything if you want to continue being a member and using BMS facilities. Just continue to turn up and make things!
  2. If you want to get more involved or find out more details, read below.
  3. We’re working on a list of “how to” guides on this page. Check in over the next few weeks for updates.

I’m a member, what does this mean for me?

There are some important things that will change:

1. You’ll notice some of our accounts, billing entities etc. will change over to Meanjin Makerspace Inc.
  2. You will automatically become a member of Meanjin Makerspace Inc.. If you don’t want this to happen, please email us asap to cancel your membership.